Select Page

about me

Hi, I’m Kenan!

(That’s Kenan with a long e, like key.)

As my twenties came to a close, and it was kind of crazy to look back on all of the roles that my last decade of life held. I did everything from an Etsy shop and pet portraits to catering, teaching cooking classes, being the chef/product manager at meal kit delivery start-up PeachDish, and co-founding an e-commerce florist, Chivalry Flowers. Food, flowers, design, and art were big themes. I settled into a rhythm with food and product photography and made the switch from food blogging to lifestyle blogging. I also found an interest and passion in the natural world with local agriculture, flowers, and gardening. The conventional wisdom about your twenties being a time to find yourself has been very true for me.

My early thirties brought two precious sons into my life. They’ve shifted the way I cook, work, and travel. My heart and hands are much fuller these days.

To answer the oft-asked, “what do you actually do” question, here are a few answers:

I’m a photographer. You’ll usually find me with projects for local restaurants/food companies, real estate listings, and family portraiture. Most of my work falls into the “lifestyle” genre. I love to be hands-on styling my subjects with an easy, natural, and organic aesthetic. (Of course, I also photograph a lot of personal things for social media and my blog, including my recipes, my home, and our travels.)

I’m an artist. My training and inclination toward art inform pretty much everything I do. But to be specific, I’m a painter. I’m currently working on a series of large, contemporary botanicals painted in acrylic on canvas (think flowers, fruits, and veggies).

I’m a designer. Design has shown up in my life in different ways at different times. It’s manifested as creating logos for companies. It’s looked like decorating investment properties and staging homes for sale. And it’s meant helping people make decisions during a house renovations.

I’m an Airbnb superhost. I’m currently channeling all my years of teaching about entertaining into being a great “innkeeper” for the garden suite rental in our Atlanta house, as well as a family-friendly cottage down the street.

I’m a mom. I have the incredible privilege of being a mother to two sweet boys. It’s a challenging job, but I am so grateful for it.

I live in Atlanta in my dream 1930 English Tudor house with my husband, Nick. We met and started dating my first week at UNC-Chapel Hill and got married in 2010. We welcomed our son Griffin in November of 2019 and our son Perry in April 2022. We love to travel as often as Nick’s Big Law schedule allows.

Here are some more tidbits about my life and work:


What kind of camera do you use?

In 2015, I upgraded to my first full-frame camera, a Nikon D750*. I mostly shoot with a Nikon 50mm f/1.8 lens*.

What programs do you use to edit photos?

I edit photos from my camera primarily in Lightroom (both on my computer and with the iPhone app). I sometimes do spot edits in Photoshop.

Where did you go to school? What did you study?

I graduated from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, a public, residential high school in Durham (yup, nerd school). Then I went to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where I studied biology and chemistry for two years, picked up a husband, and ended up earning a degree in studio art with a concentration in painting. Yes, in that order.

What’s your favorite place that you’ve visited?

In the US, Carmel, California and Telluride, Colorado are the top of my list. Internationally, the French Riviera / Cote d’Azur and Italian Riviera are some of the most magical places I’ve seen so far.

Where are you going next?

NYC, Costa Rica, and Big Sky are all on the docket!

*This page contains affiliate links, which means I earn a few cents if you make a purchase from these links.  Thanks for helping support the projects that keep in business!  For more information, see my disclosures page.